Big city lights
Photo by Oleg Balashov
View from the colonnade of Saint Isaac's Cathedral
Photo by EGRA
Saint-Petersburg in the evening. Palace Square
Photo by Sergey Louks
Peterhof Palace. Fountains
Photo by Sergey Louks
Sunset in Saint-Petersburg
Photo by Sergey Louks

About Russian Federation

Russian Federation (Russia) is the largest country in the world with the total area 17 075 400 square kilometers (over 6.5 million square miles. It's situated in the Eastern part of Europe and Northern part of Asia. The main part of the European territory of Russia is situated within the Eastern European Plain (Vostochno-Evropeyskaya Ravnina). The southern border is on the North Caucasus. The main part of the Asian area of Russia is on Zapadno-Sibirskaya Ravnina and Sredne-Sibirskoye Ploskogor'ye. The territory of Russia spans through 11 times zones.

Russia borders with Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Poland, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, China and North Korea by land, and with Sweden, Turkey, Japan and the USA by sea.

The climate of Russia varies from the steppes in the south and coastal on the north-west through humid continental in much of European Russia; sub arctic in Siberia to tundra climate in the polar north and monsoon on the Far East. The average temperatures of January vary from 0 to -50°C, July - from 1 to 25°C. Many regions of Siberia and Far East are situated in the permafrost zone. Thus, Russia is one of the coldest countries in the world. The town of Oimyakon in north-east Siberia is the coldest inhabited place on earth, with temperatures recorded at more than 70°C below zero. The inhabited areas are mostly in the continental climate zones with long freezing winters (5-6 months long) and short warm summers.

The largest rivers are Volga, Lena, Irtysh, Yenisey, Ob, Amur.

The largest lakes are Caspean Sea, Aral'skoye More, Baykal, Ladozhskoye, Onezhskoye.

Russia has an extremely wide natural resource base including major deposits of oil, natural gas, coal, strategic minerals, timber, diamonds and gold. There are  85 nature reserves and 25 national parks.